top of page
  • Writer's pictureskaylor

Attentive Beauty

Updated: Apr 27, 2019

Keep close to nature's heart... and break clear away, once in awhile, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean. -John Muir

This Bearded Iris beautifully reflects droplets from a recent rain.

We are blessed to have a bounty of beauty surround us daily through our lives. The practice of being attentive is a habit that some come by naturally, but for some it is a skill that has to be honed through careful and deliberate practice.


This unique spiky seed pod comes from a Sweetgum Tree.

Spring is my favorite season in Texas because of the beautiful scenery. Who doesn’t like watching nature show off her natural beauty coming to life after a cold dreary winter? (allergies aside) When you add a little extra awareness to the experience, the transition can benefit both your body and your mind.


Walking through one of our fabulous parks or gardens here in Austin with my family is one of my favorite activities. I make a conscious effort to stop every now and again and really pay attention to where we are and what surrounds us. I take these opportunities to capture pictures on my phone. I get really great photos this way and it really helps me to feel connected to nature and appreciate the beauty of the world around me.


Stopping and consciously engaging our senses when out walking not only calms and grounds us—relaxing both mind and body—but it also deepens our connection to the natural world.


Spending time in nature has healing and restorative powers. Being outdoors increases well-being, helps alleviate stress and anxiety, promotes creativity, assists with recovery from mental fatigue, helps restore attention, boosts the brain’s ability to think, and engages the senses.


South Padre Island, Texas

Being a full time student with 2 part time jobs and a family I carry a lot of stress. I spend far less time in nature than I would like. I’ve always loved being in nature. As well as walking, I really enjoy working in my yard; digging, weeding, planting and sculpting the landscape. It’s then I feel an almost instantaneous sense of calm and peace, coupled with an intense awareness of being alive.


I often fantasize about future days when I will have more time and freedom in my schedule. I want to spend more time alone meditating quietly or watching the sun come up with a cup of coffee while journaling. In the meantime, I make sure to practice awareness of natures artistic beauty as I go about my daily life. You can easily do the same.


The pond in our backyard provides ample opportunity for both quiet meditative moments and photo-opportunities.

Enjoy a few moments in silence as you look around and consciously engage your sense of sight. Start by turning around slowly and deliberately taking in the 360-degree view as you do.


Look up—explore the sky, the patterns in the clouds, the canopy of trees above. Look down—notice shadows, patterns, colors, and textures on the ground. Sit or lie down for a moment to absorb your surroundings.


Now look closely at an object that catches your attention, such as a leaf or the bark on a tree. Allow your gaze to soften as you explore the object.





Gently observe the colors, shape, and texture. Take a deep breath, really observe the object. Look for subtle details you might have missed at first glance. Allow yourself to view your subject from different angles, zoom in and out to crop your image in various compositions.


In no time you will realize you have a great collection of photographs from nature to draw from for your artistic practice. How can you use your images in your classroom or to further your artistic practice?


Explore. Breathe. Enjoy natures beauty.




Early morning dew decorated this spider web left overnight.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's Time to Prepare

If you are interested in helping me to create the best classroom ever please consider some of the items on the registry below. Registry

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page